SHISD banner

High School - NHSNHS Logo
Advisor - Kylie Murry


National Honor Society officers for the 2016-17 school year are:
President: Avery Barnhill
Vice-President: Jacob Schmidt
Secretary: Sommer Harkins
Treasurer: Grace Stark
Reporter: Courtney Harris

NHS induction
photo courtesy of Jeanette Cobb
The 2016-17 induction ceremony was held on September 25, 2016. (See invitation.)

The purpose of the National Honor Society is to create enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of Spring Hill High School. The Alpha Centauri Chapter of NHS will be consistent with the Constitution and the policies established by the National Council.

To be considered for membership, a student must be a full-time sophomore or junior student and must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 90 in all academic courses (English, Science, Math and Social Studies), AP courses, and honors since entering high school. In the spring semester, students who meet the academic requirements will be invited to submit an application detailing how they exhibit the qualities of service, leadership, and character. Equal consideration is given to scholarship, service, leadership and character by the faculty council (appointed by the principal) in making the final decision about who will be offered membership. *Note: Transfer membership is granted to any student when a letter of good standing is received from the NHS adviser or principal of the former school.

Expectations for maintaining membership:

Sponsor: Kylie Murry

2015-2016 Induction Ceremony

NHS members

NHS inductees